Crusade Across Worlds by CG Coppola

30331612It’s another awesome entry in the Arizal series!

As the book description says, Fallon finishes her training and joins the usual crew – including the super hot Reid – on an adventure that sees them moving seamlessly from world to world. Fallon has grown as a character, not just personal growth, but physical growth as well. She’s gone from being a pretty normal twenty-something in book 1 to a kick butt fighter. This is a transition that few authors handle well, and generally leave me shaking my head and saying “yeah right,” – but not Coppola! She handles it beautifully and makes Fallon’s transition feel not only plausible, but believable.

Another thing she does well is turn a phrase. I always enjoy her writing and this book was no exception. Several of the descriptions, such as “His fingers unfold like flower petals in bloom”, literally made me stop reading and think “Dang! I wish I’d thought of that!”

And did I mention Reid? Still as hot as ever, a little bit of a love triangle gives him the chance to be just possessive enough to be hot, but not so possessive as to be creepy. Even better, I appreciate the way Fallon handles it – no throwing herself at the other guy like so many book heroines do.

Basically this book (and thes series) are a perfect example of the right way to handle…well… everything! Coppola has an amazing sense of timing and flow, and seems to know just when we need some action, or some tension, or a tragic flashback, or some romance. I don’t want to get into too much because of spoilers, but I can say that I loved, loved this book and I love, love this author and am so excited for whatever she writes next!

5 red balloons: redbaloonredbaloonredbaloonredbaloonredbaloon sig

 
Leave a Reply

